free website stats program What have you Learned | Harley Davidson Forums

What have you Learned

bwalsh22

So I was riding home from work last night, enjoying the cool breeze and avoiding the crazy cagers when I got to thinking how lucky and blessed I am to have come across this site, the great moderators here, and all the great guys and girls that read and respond to every post.

I can say last year I took a break from riding for the most part (promise to the wife after some things) and did not spend too much time here, but still the occasional drop-in and troll. Now this year, back to riding full swing and this is one of my daily must read and catch up places once again.

With that all said I thought it would be an interesting discussion just to see what you have learned/enjoyed/completed since you joined this forum with the great advice from the many moderators and other members.

For me, I am by no means a mechanic, usually a mess up and learn as I go type of guy, but I had done quite a bit of work on my old car, so not afraid of the wrench by any means, however I will say I a bit more nervous doing work on the bike as I know doing something wrong could mean a whole lot worse. Despite that anxiety here are just a few of the things that I can think of that I have done and learned by monitoring and commenting on this site.

Learned about and Completed
  • Lots of great information about the correct oils to use
  • Complete oil service all the way around, not even a hesitation
  • Spark Plug replacement, just for safe keeping
  • Full forward controls install, no shortcuts, created my own tool and managed to get it all back together and working
  • Wide Tire Kit on the rear. I did learn it was not necessary, but being the way I am had to do it the kit way, so full rear tire removal, put the kit on (dealership mounted tires on new rims), remounted the wheels (lots of great info here for that)
  • Front wheel re-mounted properly thanks to some great glider advice