free website stats program Do-it-yourself headset for Ultra Classic | Harley Davidson Forums

Do-it-yourself headset for Ultra Classic

Rhoades

There are other posts on this topic on the Internet but I thought I would share my experiences so far.

There are two solutions if you want to add a headset and microphone to your Ultra.
1. Pay HD $199 / set
2. Build your own = $14.00 / set

As an electronics engineer i chose #2
Which includes:
A. logitech PC headset 880 from amazon.com for $12.99 equipped with a short noise cancelling boom microphone on the left head phone.
B. (1) male 7 pin DIN connector from your local electronics store for $1.49.
C. Solder DIN connector on to end of cable per pinout below:

Pin 6 unused
Pin 1 = Mic + = Gold colored multistrand wire wound around red shielded wire
Pin 4 = Mic common = Red shielded wire wound with Gold wire used for pin 1
Pin 2 = Headset common = Dark Green
Pin 5 = Left + = Dark Purple
Pin 3 = Right + = Red
Pin 7 = PTT= not used with this headset (use PTT already on bike)

I cannot take credit for finding the wiring diagrams but I did verify the pinout for use with the logitech headset.

Strip the shielding off the red shielded wire. "tin" the wire with solder. All other wires have a very thin plastic coating. Carefully "tin" the end with a fully heated soldering iron and use a small amount of solder. Hold the soldering iron on the end until the solder sticks. This melts the coating off and takes a steady hand and a little patience. Carefullt trim the soldered wire to just a few millimeters of soldered wire (prevents shorting when the connector is completed).
Carefully "tin" each of the DIN connector pins (too much heat will melt the plastic around the pins).
Carefully heat each tinned pin and simultaneously insert the tinned wire into the matching pin.