free website stats program Poor gas milage on new '09 FLHTC | Harley Davidson Forums

Poor gas milage on new '09 FLHTC

dbinbc

Anyone have any idea why I am getting very poor gas milage on my new '09 Electra Glide Classic that I bought this spring. The '07 Classic that I traded got about 15 miles (imperial) to the gallon MORE than this bike is getting and they were set up as identical as possible. Dealer installed Stage 1, nothing else. The '09 runs great, rides even better but it can't go as far on the bigger tank as the old bike could on the smaller tank. I'm just coming up on the 3000 km mark which is about 1860 miles but by that time on the old bike I was getting very good milage. This bike is not improving like I thought it should. Plugs look good and no soot in the tail pipes to indicate running rich but I'm no mechanic and have no idea at all. Any suggestions for questions that I can take to the dealer would be appreciated.

You didn't say what mileage you're getting. I have an 09 Ultra and at 3000km's I was getting about 48 miles to the gallon. Now, at 17000km's I get up to 51 miles to the gallon on the highway and 48 to 50 around town.

I'd personally give it a few thousand more miles before I'd be concerned with it as long as it's running good and plugs look good......My 2007 EGC was only getting in the 30's MPG until I got around 8000-10,000 miles on her, then it jumped up to and stayed at 42-45 MPG..... Now take this next statement for what's it's worth considering the source, my local dealer told me most new scoot's won't get high MPG's (40-50) until around 10,000 miles. Whether or not that is true, I can't say, but I didn't get good mileage on the glide or the Heritage Softail I had before it, until around 10,000 miles.

JMO and my experience's.