free website stats program Did I make the right decision? | Harley Davidson Forums

Did I make the right decision?

I am new to Harley's and new to here, but not new to motorcycles. I was tired of getting motorcycle fever every year when the weather turns nice and decided to do something about it. To make a long story short I started looking at bikes and actually considered a few imports as well. I wondered into the local HD dealership that is 5 mins from my home and learned about all of the new models since my last visit in 2008.

I decided that as much as I want quick and sporty, if I am going to ride the bike as much as possible I need some realy storage. That way alot more errnda fall into the "excuse to ride" category. So I went from the looking at V-Rods to Softails, and decided that the Road King's, and Street Glides were more the ticket. Being under 40 (please don't read into that) and being used to riding sport bikes (read crotch rockets) this is somewhat shocking even to me.

The dealer slightly turned me off to new bikes by saying that they sell everything 1K to 4K over MSRP (not that I believed it). So, I started searching online and found some great options. I am all set to take delivery of a 2007 SE Road King on Tuesday, but I am second guessing my decision not to go new, or at least with the newer frame (2009). I am also concerned tha this bike does not have ABS. I have never had a bike with it, but I also have never owned a bike this large. The dollars are about the same for a new Road King or the 2007 SE that I chose. What do you folks think? I appreciate your opinions. Sorry for being so wordy.

Some of the reasons I chose the SE are:

Performance
Increased resale value
Rarity
No need to tinker and upgrade / add more chrome

I just keep second guessing after learning of the chassis change in 2009, and of course the lack of ABS.