free website stats program Stuck Release Arm | Harley Davidson Forums

Stuck Release Arm

hogcrazy

I have a 1986 FXR custom and I'm new to the HD world. It worked fine for some 200 miles then I went to down shift and found no action to my clutch lever. I could still shift but without the clutch. Once I limped home I found that the release arm on the transmission did not move. I removed the clutch access cover and noticed the locking nut loose and I could turn the clutch. Anyone have an Idea of my next steps to ID what is causing the release arm not to move?

Thanks for any advise.
Hogcrazy

Last edited:
Start by checking the cable and it's condition and adjustment.

Next take a look here.
http://www.hdtimeline.com/transmiss...justment_and_troubleshooting_of_clutches.html

After that you may want to open up the clutch ramp side of the trans to see if the 3 balls and the snap ring are in place . This is what you should see. The 3 balls are behind the ramp and the snap ring should be in the land to hold the ramp in place. Disregard the red arrow.
ramp.jpg

After that, you should get a manual and go over the clutch side of the transmission to see if everything looks right.

You may try a clutch adjustment to see what you get out of it.

Clutch Adjustment Technique By The Book

Ideally, you want the motorcycle to be on a lift or stand. The procedure can be done on the kickstand but, some primary fluid may leak out.

Back off the cable adjuster until the adjuster is fully collapsed.

Remove the derby cover and set aside.

Loosen the clutch adjuster lock nut two turns.

Turn the clutch adjuster in until it LIGHTLY seats against the clutch release bearing. Seated means that it is touching but not pushing against the release. At this time the clutch lever should have very little play.

Back the adjuster out 1/2 to 1 full turn from seated. Repeat this several times to get all the play out.

Lock the adjuster nut down while holding the adjuster from turning.