free website stats program Sportster fuel gauge | Harley Davidson Forums

Sportster fuel gauge

Tibo

I am new to riding motorcycles and recently purchased an 06 883 Low-XL (no modifications to the bike). I noticed that there isn't any sort of fuel gauge. How do you know how much gas is in the tank? It seems strange to me that one is not included (my touring scooter has one). I live in a rural area and would not like to run out. Is there a gauge accessory that could be installed to accomplish this? Also I notice a reserve setting on the fuel switch. How many miles can you get from the reserve setting?
Thanks

I have been riding motorcycles since 1975 the first time i ever had a bike with a fuel gauge was the Dyna i bought for the wife a year ago
so every time i fill up i reset my trip meter to 0 and as the miles clock up the fuel level goes down
if you know the capacity of your tank if you fill up after 50 miles you'll see how much has been used and you'll be able to work out a rough mileage to tank
you need to give yourself a wee bit of leeway just in case although i can get about 150 miles out of either of my bikes i tend to fill up around 100 miles cos thats the best my bum can do without a stretch
if you need to use reserve id want it to be less than 15 miles but Ive never put the reserve past 10 miles
the type of riding you are doing will affect you fuel usage
by the way this is much more accurate than the Dyna fuel gauge shows empty when half full

Brian

My 05 1200c does not have a gas gauge but it does have 2 trip odometers and I use one of them for reference. I have a 4 1/2 gallon tank and 1 gallon or that is reserve. I'm good for 145 miles before before it starts gulping for the reserve. My 05 is a carb bike btw.