free website stats program Riding a turn with sand on it | Harley Davidson Forums

Riding a turn with sand on it

larryjmiller

Last weekend I was riding through the twisties and hit a curve a little too hot and the curve had sand and water on it. I couldn't find a clear path on the road without some sand on it. I slowed the best I could then rode through it sweeping wide into the left lane. I could see that no one was coming in that lane. I put my right boot down, turned my head in the direction I wanted to go (right) and I made the turn without sliding much.

Is there a tried and true method for doing this manuever? I probably was riding slightly beyond my riding capability as we were in a group. I certainly did slow it down a bit too after that.

One of my buds said that on a dirt bike you would try and place more weight on the back wheel and ride it out.

Any suggestions for next time?

I've been riding for almost Three years now. I've been on group rides with some that have about the same amount of time on a bike as I or less , and with some that have been riding for 20 years or more. When we've started these rides the guys with more experience will agree to let the newbies set the pace but it always only a matter of time before they pick up the pace to higher speeds and the newbies will try to keep up sometimes riding beyond the skill level. After a couple of these rides I decided that when riding with this group I would always be the last one in line and ride at a pace that is good comfortable for me. I tell the others that if I fall behind on the curves I'll try to catch up on the straits or at the next stop. I agree with Fatboy07; if you are going to ride beyond you skill level; get rid of the bike. I'd rather see your bike listed on E-bay than to see R.I.P. below your name on this site. Have fun and ride safe