free website stats program Low Beam Question | Harley Davidson Forums

Low Beam Question

ReefRider

I am new to HDs. Just got my first HD after 40 years of riding metrics. Here's my question. I have spotlights that only come on with the low beam headlight. My high beam works but neither my low beam or spots work. I have no voltage to the low beam connection in the headlight . If one of the spots go will I loose the low beams altogether? I was thinking it was a low/high beam switch problem but in all my years I never saw a switch go bad and this is a 05 Fat Boy. Feedback is appreciated

A bulb going out is most commonly due to filament failure and should have no effect on voltage.Even with a bad bulb, you should have juice.Sounds like possible water intrusion at the pigtail or a bad fuse.

Any mods done?Handlebars,A/M lighting?Check fuses.Find the pigtail and check the juice there.

I am new to HDs. Just got my first HD after 40 years of riding metrics. Here's my question. I have spotlights that only come on with the low beam headlight. My high beam works but neither my low beam or spots work. I have no voltage to the low beam connection in the headlight . If one of the spots go will I loose the low beams altogether? I was thinking it was a low/high beam switch problem but in all my years I never saw a switch go bad and this is a 05 Fat Boy. Feedback is appreciated

So your saying that you have high beam but no low beam/spotlights at all right!??

That is correct. The high beam works fine. When you switch to low beam I get nothing. I checked the voltage at the headlight plug. Basically high beam is 12V low beam 0 volts. I guess my best guess is to check it at the switch .
From there if I have voltage I guess it has to be in the wiring. Strange that the spots don't work!