free website stats program Larger Profile Back tire for Street Bob? | Harley Davidson Forums

Larger Profile Back tire for Street Bob?

R_W_B

I have a 2007 Street Bob. When looking at the rear tire from the rear position it is plenty wide enough to suit me. But when looking at it from the side position it has too low of a profile to me.
I am wondering if anyone has mounted a larger profile tire on a Street Bob and roughly how much can you go with out fender hitting tire on bottom out. (from looking I would imagine not much)
I'm thinking the Fat Bob tire might work ?

I have the wide tire kit, 180 in the rear, which I believe is as far as you can go without changing a bunch of stuff (I am no expert, but it has been discussed on here). In general, you do not really need to wide tire kit unless you have lowered the back end and stuff, all it does if give you a 180 SE tire, and has you remount the wires under the bike, but there is still plenty of clearance even with the 180.

Overall, it does not change much of the profile of the tire and do not think you could do too much in that case.

I have the wide tire kit, 180 in the rear, <.......> Overall, it does not change much of the profile of the tire and do not think you could do too much in that case.

Thanks for the reply. Yes it is only the higher profile that I want. The rear width looks fine to me. I'm old school and just never warmed up to the newer low profile tires on bikes and autos now.

In fact Honda's new Fury (chopper) would look great if they put a higher profile rear tire on it (and also gave it a real gas tank)

I do like the fatter tires on the Fat Bob, particularly the front one.