free website stats program Help - Unlucky on Friday the 13th | Harley Davidson Forums

Help - Unlucky on Friday the 13th

My 2008 Street Bob died on me last night. I got a mile down the road, it backfired about 3 times as I hit the throttle and then went completely dead. No lights, nothing. Checked main fuse, ok. Turned on and off ignition and still nothing. Long push back home. Mechanically challenged...where do I begin to look for problem? It's obviously still under warranty if I can't make a simple fix myself. Help is appreciated.

Lots of posts about 2008 touring models having fuel pump issues. Sounds possible in your case but I'm no mechanic. I'd call your dealer/mechanic immediately. Then I'd post some more exact details of what happened, what you've tried, and the results so someone a lot smarter than me can jump in with some suggestions.

Here's the link:

08 touring fuel pump issues - Harley Davidson Community

Good luck!

Last edited:
My 2008 Street Bob died on me last night. I got a mile down the road, it backfired about 3 times as I hit the throttle and then went completely dead. No lights, nothing. Checked main fuse, ok. Turned on and off ignition and still nothing. Long push back home. Mechanically challenged...where do I begin to look for problem? It's obviously still under warranty if I can't make a simple fix myself. Help is appreciated.

Probably the battery terminals loose. Very common lately.

Sorry to hear about your scoot Phantom!!! Since you stated "No lights,nothing" -- IMO-- Way to many gremlins could be involved with this one and your bike is still under warrenty -- I would not even attempt to fix myself. Besides if you take it to the dealer they will have a "work history" on your scoot if this happens again.

Yep, go with Glider's suggestion first. It's amazing how often we forget to start with the simplest solution before jumping to the conclusion that it's something awful.