free website stats program DFW Area Rides? | Harley Davidson Forums

DFW Area Rides?

pnags05

Hey all I'm in the DFW area and I'm looking for anybody around Mid Cities or Grapevine area. Just bought a 2007 XL1200R and I'm new to the biker community. Would be great if somebody could fill me in on the poker runs and charity rides they do around here. Also my dad and uncle are riding their Dynas out in Aug so does anybody have any suggestions for a good day trip around here? Would be nice to get out of the city and take them on a little day ride somewhere with a good view or something. Thanks and I look forward to getting to know some people!

Pnags05, welcome to the forum! I'm in the Mid-Cities area, but haven't done much in the way of poker runs and charity rides. You can often find information at the dealerships. Some of the local shops like Bikers Bay or Cycle Gear will also have information available on the rides. Probably the biggest in the area is the Big Texas Toy Run in December.

My wife and I have a number of routes around Grapevine to take rides that are a couple of hours long. A couple of places like are the road over the Grapevine dam. Just north of the dam, there are 3 roundabouts that can be fun to ride around. Also try Dove Loop Road out through Southlake to Keller. It's slow, but fairly pretty. Another area to try is Hwy 377 north from 114 to FM 407, then west to Justin, and on to US 287. Just watch your speed through Northlake and Justin. 377 north of Denton up to Gainesville is also a nice ride.

Some other roads to consider are FM 51 north out of Decatur, which goes up through the LBJ National Grasslands. If you just want to burn some highway miles, try 287 north from Ft. Worth up to Wichita Falls.