free website stats program Chain vs. Belt? | Harley Davidson Forums

Chain vs. Belt?

papajohn

I am new to this, when I bought my first bike I didn't know anything about chains or belts,
I recently bought a 99 883 hugger, belt drive, I just saw a bike I really want, it is a 2000 1200c sportster, chain drive, what are the pro's and cons?

Last edited by a moderator:
Any sportster 1200 after 1990 would have come with a 5 speed gearbox and belt drive but on this one must have been replaced by a chain drive kit
Chain drive may have been fitted to allow the use of a wider rear wheel and tyre (seems to be an obsession to some people)
However chain final drive will require more maintenance regular lubrication and adjustment of the chain and id guess about 10000 miles life for chain and sprockets if used harshly
Belt supposed life about 80000 miles i would change at about 50000 miles and no periodic maintenance other than checking the condition of the belt and rotors

Brian

I am new to this, when I bought my first bike I didn't know anything about chains or belts,
I recently bought a 99 883 hugger, belt drive, I just saw a bike I really want, it is a 2000 1200c sportster, chain drive, what are the pro's and cons?

And a chain drive makes for a dirty oily rear wheel.

Coming from the chain side of the house...chains while having come a long way with O-Ring sealed link pivots and such still have issues with cleanliness and wear. Since it's introduction in the 80's, the belt made by Gates has evolved into a clean, durable and efficient system.

Belt drive is the way to go. The dig early on was the strength of the teeth verses torque and horsepower that has been addressed, using aramid/kevlar fibers and such. Going from one type of drive to another is expensive, personally I would leave as is, if you are like the machine...otherwise pass, if this is a make/break decision.