free website stats program can you mix donlops and metzler tires safely | Harley Davidson Forums

can you mix donlops and metzler tires safely

mslater

i just ordered a 21" renegade ,tahoe rim with a metz.880 tire,for my 08 road glide...i want to leave the stock 16" with dunlop tire on for now...i realize this probably isnt the ideal thing to do ,but is it crazy unsafe? i have no experience with this

Mixing different brands of tires can be dangerous under certain conditions because of the different handling characteristics of the different tires.

Think of it this way...
Would you go running with a sneaker on one foot and a
dress shoe on the other foot?
Tires on a motorcycle are much the same. The are designed
to work together to provide the maximum grip on the surface
of the road.

It may be okay for you in the beginning, but when one tire
warms faster than the mismatched tire does, one will have
the grip thru the corner. While the other will cause you to
slide the rear end or worse cause your front end to slide out
and causing you to go into a high side.

It's your choice but I wouldn't mix brands.

Bluesssman I am far from expert on tires , but your talking about different compounds using the same brand tire.

Ask your engineer friend if he would run Goodyear on one side of your race car and Michellin on the other side. I am sure that with regular driving there are no problems , but as speeds and temperature increases different brands will exhibit different characteristics.

With only 2 wheels on a bike I am not willing to take that chance, just to many variables. You and your engineer friend may well be versed in tire technology, but most of us on this site do not have such an expert to rely on.
We have Glider and Hobbit and thats about as good as it gets.

Bluesssman I respect your opinion on this subject but I never have or will I mix tire brands and a motorcycle.