free website stats program Cam Install | Harley Davidson Forums

Cam Install

bigcletus

Hi Guys:

I'm not a mechanic, only a rider so please bear with me. I have an 07 Touring with Stage 1. I'm planning on having installed at a local indy a set of SE255 cams, with Fuel Moto cam install kit, reuse the pushrods, and Power Vision to replace my current FuelPak. I was speaking to a parts guy at the local HD dealer who told me I'd need compression releases if I do this. I'm sure I read previously that the releases were not necessary. Opinions/advice ??

Thanks

Hi Guys:

I'm not a mechanic, only a rider so please bear with me. I have an 07 Touring with Stage 1. I'm planning on having installed at a local indy a set of SE255 cams, with Fuel Moto cam install kit, reuse the pushrods, and Power Vision to replace my current FuelPak. I was speaking to a parts guy at the local HD dealer who told me I'd need compression releases if I do this. I'm sure I read previously that the releases were not necessary. Opinions/advice ??

Thanks

If you are not changing the compression ratio I say you should not need them, that said it would be easier on your starter and harder on your wallet plus some extra labor and parts JMO

I did it and no compression releases. You compression ratio will still be stock. If I spent any money it would be on some adjustable pushrods. The labor to R&R you stock one will just about pay for adjustable ones. The Indy can just cut the old ones out and save to time on labor.

2 weeks ago I just replaced my battery with another HD model...so I "should" be good to go...hopefully lol

Thanks for the assist...

J

I did it and no compression releases. You compression ratio will still be stock. If I spent any money it would be on some adjustable pushrods. The labor to R&R you stock one will just about pay for adjustable ones. The Indy can just cut the old ones out and save to time on labor.

:s Joe is right, that way you will maximize the out put of that NEW cam:s