free website stats program Brand Name & Model of Dyno's | Harley Davidson Forums

Brand Name & Model of Dyno's

Hoople

Account Removed
I am new to the HD world and my experience of dyno's apply to automotive chassis & automotive engine stand dyno's . Would anyone know the Brand & Model of the typical dyno that is used on motorcycles. Since the Most important question I have is if the models used are Inertia (free wheeling drum) or Eddy current (pony brake/water brake) I was hoping to find out what most shops use on bikes.

I wanted to do some research on measuring techniques and standards in testing & how they compare with automotive standards.

Tks Hoop!

Yes the most common Dyno used for motorcycles is made by DYNO-Jet , 200-250i are the most common models used and yes they are eddy current load control. there is one company that I have seen that makes Inertia type dyno I cant remember the name but they are rare ,Dyno-Jet has the main share of the market because they make the most used tuner (Power commander ) So they have good product support and software for there product line .

Thanks for the info regarding the Dyno-Jet Brand & models. I am very glad to see that they are load controlled via eddy current. Because of that, they most likely have strain gauge load cell torque arms to measure Torque directly through applied physics instead of a software function. You won't find a better way to calculate Torque and once you have that, the rest is math.

It's Great to hear that most shops use the same make/model Dyno. It makes for better comparisons from 1 shop to the next.

Next I will dig up the books on these two models and do some reading.

Tks!
Hoop!