free website stats program 2006 Sportster Clutch | Harley Davidson Forums

2006 Sportster Clutch

Searching for a little troubleshooting help, please...

I have 36K miles on my original clutch that has not been abused and has needed little to no adjustment during maintenance. Out of the blue, I'm now experiencing a "drift" in the clutch cable adjustment. I'll set it to the factory manual specs (1/8" free play at the clutch lever) and during the course of a ride it will change to much more free play (maybe 3/8" or so) and then return to normal by itself. No slippage, no grabbing...(maybe a slight amount of vibration that didn't used to be there, but it's hard to tell).

Is this the beginnings of a clutch replacement coming due?? Why the changing free play? Heat related?? What's the normal service life of a clutch? All questions I have no answers to.

I'm an aircraft mechanic so pretty knowledgeable, but have never had a clutch fail on any of my bikes. Yet.

I appreciate all responses.

I might try a new cable.
WAP.gif

The wet clutch is pretty stout, I would lube the cable good and readjust clutch, if that fails replace the cable JMO

Thanks, guys. I'll lube the clutch cable again and inspect it really well. Also, I see in the manual that there is a release mechanism which looks like a ball riding within a curved ramp. I'll pull the clutch cover and take a look-see.

I removed and inspected the clutch cable and release mechanism today. Both are fine. No issues with the cable strands or housing, it rides smoothly and the clutch lever is fine. Also removed and inspected the clutch release mechanism and found no abnormal wear there. The gear oil was awfully dark for only having ~ 7K miles and one year on it, so that got changed. I noticed that adding 32oz of gear lube doesn't bring the level quite up to where the manual says it should be, it's almost a quarter inch low. I need to research that.