free website stats program what is the best 883 to 1200 conversion without spending too much $ | Harley Davidson Forums

what is the best 883 to 1200 conversion without spending too much $

Hoople

Account Removed
I have no clue when it comes to conversions like this but hopping up 300 CC's I think would be a monster of a job requiring a new crank and case machine work. But I bet the results would be a heck of a lift in power.

i heard that u recycle everything.i guess all u need is the kit.u can even reuse ur heads with dished out pistons that even wiegh the same for balancing.and keep the stock heads or get different pistons then have a shop bore out ur pistons.

i just got a 98 883.it has the screamin eagle pipes cleaner with kn and has been jetted but i would like more power.it really isn't that bad now but just alittle more would do me fine.thanx in advance.i am an auto tech so i think maybe i might be able to do the conversion myself.that will help cutting out the labor charge.

The short answer is stick with the HD conversion, for simplicity and "tried and true" performance, with the barrels and parts all fitted and ready to go "off the shelf." Of course we have a certain moderator 'cross the pond in England that has a real good perspective on the conversion, as it is done quite a bit there as the delta between 883 and 1200 is far greater with imported HD models and competition/performance riding is how should I say "very traditional and almost expected." :D

Last edited:
thanku guys i will check that out.i am new to harleys so just learning about all u can do with them.it will take me awhile to get my feet wet i guess....

ONE LATE NIGHT TALK WITH JERRY BRANCH OF BRANCH HEADS....

one late evening i made a phone call to a calif. shop...

THINKING to leave MY return number ,,, was quite surprised that someone answered the phone..

JERRY BRANCH was the answer..