free website stats program Valve train noise | Harley Davidson Forums

Valve train noise

I am sure this is an old question, but as i am new to harley davidson , has anyone came up with a fix for the noisy valve lifter, or valve train noise in the twin cam engine???????

Thanks red

My Twin Cam isn't noisey...Yes I can hear the valve train, but it doesn't sound out of the ordinary. Are you sure you don't have a problem? If it's something just developing that seems different IE lifter colapsing or loose timing chain, you might want to check into it before it really gets expensive.

I am sure this is an old question, but as i am new to harley davidson , has anyone came up with a fix for the noisy valve lifter, or valve train noise in the twin cam engine???????
Thanks red

FIRST OFF- LOOK AT THE NECK PLATE ON THE FRAME OF BIKE AND TELL ME THE BUILD DATE....VERY important!!! IF ON or BEFORE (earlier) than DEC.15, 1999.... I'll talk about that THEN.

How many miles on the 2000 TC?
how long have YOU owned the bike...
service recorder on bike?
what mods. have been done?
WHAT TYPE OF VALVE NOISE AND HOW LONG HAS IT BEEN THERE?

please get me the information and I'll give you a GOOD report about the FACTS.

signed....BUBBIE

Thanks for the reply BUBBIE. the bike was mfg April /00. It has 50k on odometer. I have put 350 miles on it since i bought it . any mods are unknown,but my son who has had a harley for some time seems to think it has none. I put a new set of lifters in from a shop in fort worth that are supposed to hold more oil. may have helped some what. has Royal Purple 20-50 syn oil and HD filter.Noise seems to be directly from the lifter covers.rockers seem to be in good shape. Cannot get any info from the guy I bought it from. He just says it has always been serviced by HD Dealer.

Thanks again

Red

sounds like bad lifters in a v/8 Chevy

Last edited: