free website stats program Thinking of a Road King | Harley Davidson Forums

Thinking of a Road King

Drew

I know this song has been sung before, but here goes. I started riding this season after taking the MSF course at the end of last season. I bought a 2008 xl883c, which has been great, but I'm thinking I want a bigger bike (big surprise... huh?). I'm having a blast on the XL, and the power is just fine, but I am 6'1" 215lbs., and even with the forward controls, which really look like mid controls when I'm sitting on it, I feel a little cramped... not horrible, but evident. and when I caught a reflection of myself riding the other day, it just looked like I overwhelmed the bike a bit. Plus, I just don't feel very secure/confident on the highway on it. some of that has to do with me being a new rider (1,600 miles in about 2.5 months) but I think some of it also has to do with me not being able to find a real comfortable seating position for long straight stretches. Other than that, I feel comfortable riding in pretty much all road/traffic conditions.

So, the bikes I am thinking about (which I will rent before buying) are Fat bob, Superglide Custom, and the RK classic (I like the whitewall tires). I like the RK classic because fully geared up it is a good touring bike, and with the bags and windshield off, it looks pretty lean... kind of best of both worlds. Am I wrong on that?

Any advice on things I should be aware of on any of these bikes under consideration? At this point, I'm primarily doing around town riding, but would like to do some longer trips. I would say I have taken to riding pretty well and have some natural ability along with pretty good size and strength.

thank you much
Drew

PS: I thought I posted this in the "touring" section... my bad. Mods, feel free to move it, as it probably belongs there.

Last edited: