free website stats program Thinking about a 2010 Ultra Classic. too small? | Harley Davidson Forums

Thinking about a 2010 Ultra Classic. too small?

rcwheelman

Hey guys.
I currently own an 09 nightrain and am thinking of getting a touring bike. I'm loving the UC. Not sure Im tall enough though. I'm 5'3 at 125lbs. I've been riding for 20 years. I've ridden a 03 goldwing and handled it fine. Reverse helped. ;) what do you guys think. I'm keeping my softale. But I'm wanting a touring bike. And the UC has stolen my heart.
WAP.gif

If you did not have any problems with the 03 Wing then you shouldn't have any problems at all with the UC.

you could ride it fine,the problem would be touching the ground flat footed.THE 09&10 MODELS sit higher than previous years.If you buy a10 model make sure it was built after 01-18-2010 they changed the seat so they sit 1/2'' lower.You can put shorter shocks on it and get a different seat to lower you down if you need too

I am 5'9" and am right on the edge of being too short for my 09 Ultra. I will eventually have to change the seat or lower it. At 5'3" I would not recommend an ultra. Even if you modify it, you will still be struggling and the handling issues you will create will take away from the bike. I would find a decent dealer and have them help you fit a bike. I love my Ultra, but if I was even an inch shorter it would be a problem. I seen here a Softail Deluxe someone put a fairing on. Not a touring bike but I would rather have a bike that fit then one that does not. Remember, the newer Ultras have wider seats that make it even more difficult for us shorter people.:( Good Luck!

I'm 5'10" and sometimes it is a struggle to handle my 2010 Ultra when backing into a parking spot or parking on a slight angle. I have a 31" inseam and have bought the new low seat and still have problems at times. Hope this helps.