free website stats program TFI for '03 Ultra? | Harley Davidson Forums

TFI for '03 Ultra?

propflux01

I have a few questions about the TFI. I have been reading up on this, and trying to figure what to do here. Mine is an '03 Ultra that I picked up used with 34K. It has 40K now. I am relatively new to HD's, and last year I opened up the Cam chest cover after reading horror stories on Cam chain tensioners. I found a gear drive setup on it, but have no idea what cams are in it, as there are No markings on them of any kind that I can find. That said, the bike is an 88 incher, and the first long trip I took on her posted 36MPG, then 40 MPG, and last tank got 44MPG. Speed was all interstate, at 78 MPG, cruise on. The bike is equipped with stock air cleaner and true (fulsac) duals with Carriage works Slips on it. Since I don't know the cams, and Don't know if there has ever been any kind of download, would the TFI still do any good on this bike? And if so, is it reliable, as in When I take a trip from Central Arkansastan to Washington state, will I have to worry it will fry out and leave me in the middle of Nowhereland, WY? Any suggestions?

I agree with Steve07

If you have gear drive, I would bet the cams are a little Better than the stock ones..

You are MISSING the advantage of the AIR and the TFI... You'll be really surprised how much Better it would run with both of them added...

The TFI's are almost Bullet-proof... The almost happens very seldom and IF it did go South, Just disconnecting it (ground wire) and it goes right to the stock HD setup and will get you anyplace you need to go.. Just running HD lean..

I wouldn't be with out MY TFI... I have had No problems and Really Have the SOUP.. I added SE 255 cams After my Full TFI+ stage one Air and Exhaust, the cams really made a difference..

I would bet Your cams will be of the SOUP kind... any way to contact the old owner to find out? I can't see anybody putting Stock gear drives in..