free website stats program TC88 Cam Chain plastic shoe tensioner | Harley Davidson Forums

TC88 Cam Chain plastic shoe tensioner

Porter

So I know that this is a weak link in my wife's 2002 Dyna Low Rider. I am toying with the idea of replacing this item with a better system this winter, and I am doing the research now to see if I am up to the task and what tools I would need.

I looked at a link form a site in the UK and it showed bolt cutters being used on the push rods. Am I correct in assuing that the "author" cut the push rods to get them out in pieces?

(I have never done any work like this before, but I really want to learn and I think I am willing to accept that it could be a long process and potentially more expensive than if I pay some one to do it. I can't figure out any other way to learn about engines/transmisions etc that will work with my schedule and doesn't involve going to some sort of school)

He used bolt cutters to remove the push rods. The reason is he will install adjustable pushrods. It saves from removing the rocker boxes.

There are a couple of bearing tools and a locking tool that you will need. They cost about $250 bucks. The job can be done in a day if you have no experience. As the other poster said the push rods are cut with bolt cutters, but if you prefer you can remove the rocker boxes and rockers and safe the solid push rods.
kemo

Thanks for the advice, time and the price estimates, Kemo.
1.) Are the tools specific to that model HD?

What I mean is, if I bought the (can't remember what it is called) plate/puller that removed the bearings for a 2002 (or the locking tool) TC88, could I use it to say, remove the bearings on my 2007 TC96?

2.) If I chose to save the push rods for reuse, would your time estimate be 2 days? (I haven't read up on how to remove a rocker box yet, but I will shortly.)