free website stats program Stage 1 Download | Harley Davidson Forums

Stage 1 Download

ChiroRick

I'm going with a new exhaust (V&H Big Radius 2-into-1) and intake (Screaming eagle) for my 08 dyna, but was wondering what would be best as far as tuning the bike for the new setup. I can go with the Fuelpak by V&H, or I can just take it to the dealer. The dealer says it will be $200, and the if I did it myself with the Fuelpak, it would cost me $220. My concern, is getting the bike to the dealer after I have the exhaust and intake installed. I've never owned a Fuel-Injected bike, and I don't know if it is feasible to make the 10 mile ride to the dealer to get the stage 1 download after doing the exhaust and intake myself (when I say myself, I mean having a buddy who is a mechanic help me). Will I make it, or will the bike run bad and cause damage?

I'm new to Harleys and Fuel injected bikes, by no means am I new to motorcycles. I just don't want to screw anything up. Thanks!

I talked to the guy at V&H, and he told me that the stock ECM may not have enough to handle what's needed for the V&H Big Radius and Screaming Eagle intake. He said that HD will tell me it's fine, but if it's not, then they'll try to sell me a tuner. He said I'd be better off buying my own tuner, whether it be the fuelpak, power commander, whatever. This was a guy from their tech dept. Of course, he wants the company to sell a product, but he makes a good point. HD would have no prob doing the tuning/download, then try to sell me a tuner.