free website stats program Sportster stuck in gear 4th or 5th | Harley Davidson Forums

Sportster stuck in gear 4th or 5th

ANY ADVICE PLEASE

Well I just dumped my Sportster about 12:00 AM just got off work so not really in a good mood at all.
Here is the story i was leaving the gas station and going to the main road car cut out i hit the front break, front tire dishes out from under me. No damage :) or is there yes there is somewhere in the transmission or cluth basket I'm not sure I'm new to working on motorcycles; it is jammed in 4th or 5th gear being as I had my wife come and follow me home (to get it out of the parkinglot or get towed) while I was going 55-60mph on the freeway (i know bad idea) but I got it home. I am just afraid of what is wrong it fell on the left side: right on the shifter ergo it being jammed in gear....:( any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for any and all comments Brandon

Hey Hobbit,

the shifter does move down but not upso now i am pretty sure it is stuck in 5th...it has forward controlsthe only damage to the bike is an abrasion on the shifter peg(also bent the foward control in a bit) and on the clutch lever and they are only contact from being pushed in it could have benn alot worse...if you were to look at the bike without knowing i dropped it you would never know

thanks for the intrest

Hobbit,

I have talked to my friend i work with and he was saying that he couldn't belive that it is stuck all the wall up in 5th due to the fact all the gears it would have to go through to get there.

I have started the bike pushed it trying to disingage the gears but as of now all efforts are futile, I have had some problems at stops where when stopping at a light and then down shift it doesn't it stays in gear no matter how many times I pull up or push down... just hit me do you think that maybe the problem I was having with not being able to shift was made worse by this drop