free website stats program Smooth Stops | Harley Davidson Forums

Smooth Stops

AZDave

I have been riding for about 15 months with about 4500 miles in the seat now. Is there a gracefull way to come to a slow stop. Most times I am ok but sometime I just seem to go all over the place just before I stop. Any tricks of the road I shoud know?

Ive been riding since 1975 and most of my stops are gracefully but sometimes not so
like hobbit i prefer not to stop but to keep the bike rolling slowly if possible
but wind, angle of road surface road imperfections, the side you got out of bed in the morning can all affect your gracefulness at any time

Brian

Sounds like you probably thinkin about it too much,easier said than done but just ride and try an relax,you'll be fine.

The key word here is smooth, squeeze the brake and use more rear breaking during the last few feet. No "duck feet" landings please, your right foot should be still over the brake pedal, when stopping the last few inches, as you lean the bike slightly left at the complete stop and your left foot leaves the peg/floorboard to steady the bike. It is very important that you instruct the passenger before hand that they sit still and keep eyes centered and forward so they can see the DOT sticker on the back of the pilots helmet (like the pilot, the weight shifts whereever the eyes go, even if it is the passenger).