free website stats program Running too Lean?? | Harley Davidson Forums

Running too Lean??

67hat34c

08 1200c,

Problem started with the low fuel light, I have been fighting with local dealer for almost 2 years on this issue. Warranty runs out this month so I demanded they make proper repairs. After some very very heated arguements over the phone they finaly called factory and verified the I was right. They replaced the Fuel pump moduel that contains the sender for fuel light. When I picked up the bike I noticed the inside of the rear exhaust pipe was gray and not black as it always has been. I did not say anything and thought well possibly when they washed the bike it cleaned it out. Ran fine but seemed a little different. Temp seemed ok etc. Went to daytona from orlando 2x last week and pipe color never changed, stayed gray. Pulled spark plugs and they were caked with a thick white residue, very dry looking. Pulled manual out and it says ok for white film. Went to Dealer yesterday and purchased new plugs and installed them myself while there. Showed old plugs to a mechanic and he said running way too lean and also he suspected valve guide leaks which is why the build up was on the plugs.

I left the bike at Orlando HD, now waiting for their analysis.

Mods on the bike are v&h slipons, stage 1 intake and download, all mods done at this dealer when I bought the bike new.

Question could the fuel pump change cause a different fuel to air ratio?

Concerned with valve and piston head damage. I would guess i put on 400 miles on it since the fuel pump moduel was changed.

If the problem started exactly when the pump was changed, checking fuel pump pressure would be something I would measure.
If fuel pump pressure was in fact low, it would result in low injector delivery. The O2 sensors would try to adjust but the limit they would be able to adjust for would be about a .3 of 1 ratio point of A/F.