free website stats program Riding With A Passenger | Harley Davidson Forums

Riding With A Passenger

Shelby6t7

I have been riding for many years, mainly solo. I now have a friend that would like to ride on the back of my 2002 Fat Boy. I feel kinda dumb asking, but can any recommend the proper techniques on riding with a passenger?

Thanks

We had an informative (and often amusing) thread on this not long ago.
As simple as it sounds, there were many important safety issues covered.
Try a search for something like "two up". Maybe someone else can remember the thread title better.

Give your passanger the speech
This is hot, your feet go here and here. Always always keep your feet on the pegs, don't try to put your feet down at stops
Bikes lean when they turn, just sit still and look over my inside shoulder, that is all you need to do.
Don't get on or off till I (that is you the driver) tell you to.
And look up some of the threads. It is a little different two up so make sure you take some time go get used to it also. (more preload on the shocks)

Give your passanger the speech
This is hot, your feet go here and here. Always always keep your feet on the pegs, don't try to put your feet down at stops
Bikes lean when they turn, just sit still and look over my inside shoulder, that is all you need to do.
Don't get on or off till I (that is you the driver) tell you to.
And look up some of the threads. It is a little different two up so make sure you take some time go get used to it also. (more preload on the shocks)

Mattman has you covered pretty much, tire pressures are different with 2 up riding. For your FatBoy, solo 36 front 38 back, 2 up 36 front 42 back.

Mattman has you covered pretty much, tire pressures are different with 2 up riding. For your FatBoy, solo 36 front 38 back, 2 up 36 front 42 back.