free website stats program removed tach gauge and no passing lamp only works on one side | Harley Davidson Forums

removed tach gauge and no passing lamp only works on one side

My bike came with a tach, and I didn't care too much for the looks. Last week I decided to remove it. The previous owner installed the passing lamps and the tach. Don't know why but everything was spliced in-no wire harness for lights.:newsmile106: Basically I cut out all the splices from the tach installation and reconnected the wires to the passing lamps. Reconnected the battery and everything worked fine at first. The next day I was stopped at a stop light and noticed in my reflection on the car in front of me, that my left passing lamp and running light was out. I am an ok mechanic but a (EDIT)electrician. Is my lighting not properly grounded?

A Friendly Reminder - Harley Davidson Community

Last edited by a moderator:
Sounds like all those splices were wiring the left side driving light in "parallel" with the right driving light, and the left side running light in "parallel" with the right side running light. You will need an electrical schematic for your year make and model bike showing you the color codes so you do not cross wire to the signalling light circuitry or you could damage flasher or electronic switching circuits. "Parallel means connections branch together sharing a common voltage, rather than "series" like a daisy chained christmas tree light circuit where one break and everything is "open circuited" so the whole chain is dead.