free website stats program rebuild issue | Harley Davidson Forums

rebuild issue

hargun2

I had my motor rebuilt on a 2006 Classic by a company in the mid west and got it back, installed it, got a break in map from fuelmoto (awesome guys to work with) then after break in had it dyno'd at my local Harley shop here in Salt Lake. Since I was doing a complete re build I had it punched out to a 95 cube, they also put bigger intake and exhaust valves in the heads along with longer valve springs and a set of gear drive Crane cams 1-3005's with a .619 lift. The problem I'm having now is that there is a quite noticeable stutter/miss with the throttle at the 10 to 15 % open position that can not be tuned out by the shop. I'm being told by my local shop that the cam is way to extreme and the builder is claiming that my problem is a tuning issue. I have a master tuner on the bike with Vance and Hines slip on's. Any ideas this stutter/miss is driving me crazy?

What makes a cam street-able is intake valve closing and overlap numbers. Would you know the rest of the specs on the cams. Until you get the inertia of the intake air working for you (high RPM), extreme degree numbers (intake closing/overlap) will work against you.

Based on that crazy amount of lift, it sounds like you have a cam for true racing/performance.

Is that base circle lift or after rocker ratio multiplier?

I'm guessing base circle lift, It is listed on Cranes web site as a .619 lift along with the durations and it also states that this cam selection requires performance intake and exhaust systems. Based on the dyno run the torque and horsepower is not coming on until the engine is above 3500 rpm's and that's the point I'm trying to make with the builder. I shared my configuation with them along with my riding style which never see's the RPM needle rise above 3200 RPM. Since he claims no foul I dodn't know where to go from here. Idea's....