free website stats program Rear Turn signal issues | Harley Davidson Forums

Rear Turn signal issues

Cooker

I have a 2003 Dyna Superglide Sport. When I came home after a ride, I noticed that the tail light housing was just hanging off the end of the bike by the electrical cable. So, I re-attached it to the frame. Now the front turn signals work fine, the turn signal indicator on the handle bar works fine. In the rear the left turn works, the running/stop light does not work, the right rear turn signal does not work, however as I turn on ther right signal, the left turn signal runs. I had the bad lights tested, the stop/brake light tested good, the turn signal light tested bad. The lights were converted to LED by the previous owner.

I'm new at electrical issues. Are the rear lights on their own circuit, are they independent, run on there own, or are they dependant, when one goes out, every one after after the bad one, are out - like the old christmas lights, when one goes they all go. Because the bike has been converted to LED, could the "Load balance" have gone bad? I check the fuses, they are ok.

Attachments

• my byke.jpg
    my byke.jpg
    48.5 KB · Views: 15
I'm assuming the "right" signal is the one that was hanging and reattached ?

Sounds like the wire to the turn signal has shorted or opened due to the trauma of the bracket failure. Can't say for sure though since you have the aftermarket LED setup and I'm not familiar with that wiring.

what was hanging was the signal unit, both left and right are conected by a hollow conduit, so you can snake the wires through. The after market signals are adapted to replace the original signals. The original wireing from the battery is stock up to the tail light connection, except where the "Load Balancing" component is connected/spliced in.

If I were you I would pull the bracket back off and look for wire insulation damage. If they were working before the bracket fell off that's probably the culprit.