free website stats program Please dont laugh, but | Harley Davidson Forums

Please dont laugh, but

JayTea

could you please teach me how to properly refuel my 883Low? Will the nozzle work as if it's used with a car (meaning auto shut off when the gas tank is full...etc?)

Anything else should I watch out for or be careful about? What gas type is best for the bike?

This is my first time ever..and I dont want it to be a messy experience.

Thanks in advance:bigsmiley21:

Yep, the nozzle auto shuts off when it sensed fuel. Best to start out with the nozzle deep into the tank and let it shut off, then withdraw it a little and go again. Practice a gentle squeeze, you can control the flow. Keep a rag/paper towel in hand. Don't try to get tippy top full until you have the hang of it. Good luck, happy riding, and welcome to the world of H.D

could you please teach me how to properly refuel my 883Low? Will the nozzle work as if it's used with a car (meaning auto shut off when the gas tank is full...etc?)

Anything else should I watch out for or be careful about? What gas type is best for the bike?

This is my first time ever..and I dont want it to be a messy experience.

Thanks in advance:bigsmiley21:

Personally -JMO --- But I would not rely on the auto shut-off !!!!! If you have the scoot on the kick stand leaning as your filling the tank - more gas to one side than the other. If your sitting on your scoot while filling , no need to use auto! Squeeze the handle and use a high octane rated fuel!!

Auto shutoff is just a back up for me. I know about how much I'm going to need so I stop about a gallon short of that and sneak up on it until it's pretty full. Like previously mentioned, no need to try to squeeze every drop in unless you know you're heading out on a long stretch with no gas stations.

As a side note, I bought one of those "gas cuff" devices, used it once or twice, and never again. Waste of money IMHO.