free website stats program oil pump problem? | Harley Davidson Forums

oil pump problem?

slim jim

I am a newbee here, and i just got my bike home. When i started it, it was fairly quiet. I shut bike off and then when i started it back up,, there was a lot of noise in the top end. The noise was mainly in the lifter area and some up top. When started, it made a lot of noise in the lifter area and kind of made less noise. I am new to these evo motors and wanted to know if there is problems with the oil pump or anything else i should do. I do not have to be faced with a rebuild right off. thank for any help you can give me.

The lifters are adjusted automatically by oil pressure
when the bike is switched off for a while the lifters will bleed down and on first start may be a little noisy
they then pump up with oil and should quieten down after a short period of time
if they are still noisy after a few moments then the lifters may need to be replaced

Brian

You did not say what the mileage was but you may want to change your oil to insure the correct weight is being used, then temporarily install a mechanical oil pressure gauge just to see what your pressure is at idle and upper RPM's. This will at least give you a good indication if the noise you hear is from the as mentioned bad lifter etc or due to low pump pressure which could be involved. I would think 10 psi at idle and 30 psi at upper rpm would be nice to see.

You did not say what the mileage was but you may want to change your oil to insure the correct weight is being used ...

I agree with what Hoople said above. Change your oil and filter in the engine, change the tranny/primary fluid. No matter what you paid for the bike, this is good insurance. For recommended fluids, see here:

Oil Suggestions For Harleys - Harley Davidson Community