free website stats program Oil Pressure variations | Harley Davidson Forums

Oil Pressure variations

Baldeagle1

Hi There,
My bike, a 2003 Ultra Classic, suffers fom oil pressure variations.
While riding at say 2000 - 3000 rpm the pressure can vary between say 26 to over 50 psi.
So, one moment it low, and the next moment, e.g. after a short stop for a traffic light it can be up in the high 50 range.
The oil level is correct.
Can this hurt the engine and has anyone experienced this too?

Many thanks,
René

I'm not an expert (they will hit here later) but I've heard that what you describe is normal with some Harleys. Mine seems to stay around 40 psi but I have a rocker panel gauge and I honestly don't look down at it much after I first crank up.

My truck will sometimes drop to 30lbs at idle and then jump to 50 on take off.

Welcome to the forum. I have never seen warm oil pressure on my '07 as high as 50 psi. Mine stays between 34-40 above 2,000 rpm, and drops to nearly 0 at idle, (hot) which many others say theirs does. As soon as I get up to operating rpm again, the pressure comes back.

I would bet it is NOT any problem with the pump or by-pass spring in the oil system.... like Bereeze3at HINTS,,, Check your gauge First....There is the problem 90%....

If your bike oil is Hot when it reads 50 It is one that is ABNORMAL if Not impossible..:coffee

signed....BUBBIE

I had a similar problem with strange readings, while on the freeway at 60-70 mph it would suddenly drop from 34psi to about 24psi then after awhile go back up - I hooked up a mechanical gauge and everything was fine - found out it was the sending unit that was bad - yours sounds like it could be the same problem - if it isn't the sending unit I would concider the gauge, the sending unit is easy to replace and doesn't cost that much, and the gauge is fairly inexpensive as well - fxrs