free website stats program Oil pouring out of air breather | Harley Davidson Forums

Oil pouring out of air breather

I have an ‘06 Deluxe, took it down to the car wash to clean it up & when I got there had a steady stream of oil coming out of the air breather. I’m a newbie to these motors and troubleshooting them. But something isn’t breathing properly and/or circulating like it should. Awhile back I pulled the dipstick on a cold motor and oil wasn’t touching added a quart & still not touching added a 2nd quart and brought it up to full cold. The girlfriend has put about 200 miles on it. Today after I pushed it home from the car wash pulled the dipstick again and oil not touching. I know it’s not burning it but where is it going???? Any help appreciated!

Happens to many softail owners that aren't familiar with the oiling system.

The oil tank is above the crank case and while parked, gravity takes over and oil will slowly drain from the oil tank to the crank case. A concientous owner checks the oil level before a ride, seels oil level is low and adds oil. On start up, all the oil that has drained from the oil tank to the crank case is now back in circulation and oil level is over full and the excess gets blown out via the breathers.

The OP needs to fire up the motor and let it idle for a while to get all the oil in circulation; at least five minutes. Better yet, after idleing for a couple of minutes, take the bike for a short spin through the neighborhood. Park the bike, check the oil level on the jiffy stand and adjust accordingly. If over full, use a turkey baster to suck out the excess, if the level is low, ad oil to full mark.