free website stats program Offset Tranny Sprocket | Harley Davidson Forums

Offset Tranny Sprocket

79mr79

Whats the most offset I can run on the transmission sprocket without interfearing with the inner primary? (95 softail) I'm new to this so bear with me!

I am new also , so I am going ask why ?

Are you planning on any modifications ?

Knowing why may make your question easier to answere.

Bought a motorcycle I could afford, needs work, bank repo. Has been converted to chain drive with a 180 tire. Rear sprocket was shot, slapped a new one on to see what I had. Looking down the chain it appeared the tranny sprocket needed spaced out 1/4"? Had to ride it, broke 2 teeth off the rear sprocket. So here I am. Whats the best way to align the 2 spockets, hold a straight edge down them? Need to measure the offset on the front sprocket its stamped 281 pbi.

For whats it worth my bike was also converted to chain drive. He kept the standard tire.

What my brother inlaw did was buy an offset sprocket for the rear tire and used spacers to assign it up. A large straight edge was used to allign it all up.

In my case I used the stock HD tire so I am not sure whats involved with a 180 tire.

There are others on this board that can advise.

Last edited:
The 281 pbi sprocket has .750 total offset. The next size pbi offers is a 288 which has 1.06 total offset will this work without any primary modifications? If it will can I run an o ring chain or do I need to run a standard chain? Please help.

Am a little out of my league but if the offset on the rear sprocket is .750 and your alignment is out .250 I would think you would need a .500 spacer on rear sprocket.

First, make sure the centre of the rear tire is properly centred in the frame and aligned with the front tire.
Once thats done, determine the offset required.
Place spacer equal to the offset between the rear wheel and sprocket until the tranny sprocket is inalignment.