free website stats program Not immediately accelerating | Harley Davidson Forums

Not immediately accelerating

I tried searching the forum for an answer to this but it seems like there are a lot of possibilities. I'm a new Harley owner and I want to make sure I check the easiest fixes first.

I ride an '06 883 and I'm just starting to learn about motors and engines. It seems that lately, when I start it up, I'll let it get warm, and when I throttle to get going the bike is really slow to respond. At first, I thought I was just low on gas so I switched to reserve and filled her up. But its happenning consistently now. Can I get some advice on where I should start.

Very strong possibility it could be low fuel pump pressure. If fuel pressure is low, even by a few pounds, the bike will sag off the line.

Several things can cause low injector pressure. Are you doing the work or are you taking it to a professional shop.

Once again, I'm trying to learn so forgive the ignorance, but it's carburated so there shouldn't be fuel injectors correct?

Carb on a 2006? Your kidding. I thought all carbs were gone by 2006.

My mistake.., disregard my last transmission!:D

Then I would have to say your accelerator pump/ acc-pump linkage/accel diapham needs work..
Carb experts will jump in and save me!.

I tried searching the forum for an answer to this but it seems like there are a lot of possibilities. I'm a new Harley owner and I want to make sure I check the easiest fixes first.

I ride an '06 883 and I'm just starting to learn about motors and engines. It seems that lately, when I start it up, I'll let it get warm, and when I throttle to get going the bike is really slow to respond. At first, I thought I was just low on gas so I switched to reserve and filled her up. But its happenning consistently now. Can I get some advice on where I should start.