free website stats program No throttle on EVO CV carb | Harley Davidson Forums

No throttle on EVO CV carb

On my cleaned and rebuilt carb ('94 Evo H-D w/ OEM CV carb), I can start the bike with the enrichener pulled all the way out but if it is pushed in, the bike dies. With the bike running, if I try to twist ANY throttle in, the bike dies. Now I'm wondering if I have the vacuum jet needle in the wrong place. My install is: diaphram, spring, plastic spring retainer (support, with the 'feet' down), and needle. The head of the needle is below the spring support so if a vacuum pulls the spring support up, it won't lift the needle I don't think. Dunno; the bike will fast idle w/ the enrichener out but any other position, or twist of the throttle, kills the engine. I'm still learning about these CV carbs, obviously. Help!

Drop the needle first into the slide.Then the plastic spring retainer(feet down),then spring.Check you rubber diaphram for cracks,tears etc.Hold it up to a light.Place your cap on. Once the bike is running you should see the slide move up and down, freely, when giving it throttle. With bike off you can push the slide up and release it quickly. You should hear a swooshing sound.There is a video on here for viewing on that, I just don't know where.Look in Self help section near the top of home page. Hope this helps
tourbox

The diaphram is difficult to install correctly. Double check your work. What was the reason for the rebuild?

This may help.

Attachments

• images.jpg
    images.jpg
    3.2 KB · Views: 15
The diaphram is difficult to install correctly. Double check your work. What was the reason for the rebuild?