free website stats program no oil pressure | Harley Davidson Forums

no oil pressure

Ultra Guy

Hello to all, newbie here, first post.

I have a 2003 ultra classic, and two rides ago I noticed that the oil pressure gauge was bouncing from 0 to 35-45psi. I was almost home when this happened so soon as I got home I checked the oil and it was low. I added 1 and a quarter guarts of syn3 to bring it back to the top of the full mark. The next weekend I rode and put about 250 miles on it. while riding i noticed it would bouce around every now and then still. I thought that it may be the sending unit or even the gauge at worst. Well I put in the garage until the next weekend when I got it out to change all the fliuds since I was at about 4250 miles since last change. I started it to warm it up before putting on the lift. When I started it the Oil light(dummy light) stayed on and no oil pressure. I went ahead and changed all fluids and went back with Mobile 1. Well when I took the oil filter off i noticed some small "orange" shavings in the filter housing. They were not metal, maybe some type of plastic? they were about the size of the head of a straight pin if not smaller? It had a little bit of metal filings but no more than usuall, no more than the transmission or primary had. I think that was just normal wear. But, the orange shavings have me puzzled AND my light is still on and no oil pressure. I do not hear any rattling from the top end. How can I check to see if I'm building any pressure and if my problem is in the sending unit or gauge or the pump? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!