free website stats program Newer Style Oil Pump | Harley Davidson Forums

Newer Style Oil Pump

stinga

G'day all,

Stinga here from good ol downunder, Merredin Western Australia in actual fact just Google Earth it to see were I am at. I drive Locomotives for a living and my ride is a 1999 Dyna Wide Glide.

The old girl has just done 50k and I think I will pull the cam cheat cover off to check the condition of the tensioners, and if they need replacing I was wondering if I have to pull the plate off I would like to fit one of them Baisley oil pressure springs and the newer and better type of oil pump to my older 1998 cam support plate. The motor was rebuilt back in 2000 and Harley replaced the crank, cam plate ( PN 24598.99), oil pump, pistons, cylinders and they put in torrinton bearings and I had fitted AP TW 50 cams and quite a few other bits so as ya can see if the tensioners need replacing I would rather do them hoping that the new set will last till 100k and then maybe I will go for another upgrade up to say a 98' with gear driven cams.

Whats ya thoughts

Thanx

Stinga

Sorry i cant give you an answer Stinga, but someone will.... Hello & welcome from south bend''''''indiana...u shure have a neet & scenic country... :59:

If you are up to it, I would suggest going with the roller chain conversion kit. This will give you the hydraulic tensioners, new higher volume oil pump, new plate, new chains, etc. But the question is does your current set up have bearings in the plate? If so, and you do not want to replace the cams, then you probably should just replace the tensioners with the hydraulic ones, the front silent chain with the roller chain and the appropriate sprockets, the oil pump, and the cam shaft support bearings in the plate. Obviously, new orings to seal the pump to the plate. While you have the plate out, it would be good to install the Baisley spring (LMR-002).