free website stats program New (to me) Electra Glide | Harley Davidson Forums

New (to me) Electra Glide

daven

I have been riding a HD Dyna Super Glide since 2009. This past November, I bought a 2011 Electra Glide. The difference in size and weight is marked. I love the new bike, but acclimating myself to it is hard, especially since I can't ride regularly because of the time of year. I'm looking forward to warm weather. In the meantime, any tips regarding maneuvering the big bike would be appreciated. Did you make the switch from a Sportster or Dyna to a tourer? Please share what you did to help with the transition. Also, what mistakes did you make that I should avoid?

Congratulations. I went from a 96 fatboy to an 05 electraglide standard 3 years ago and it is a lot different. I could ride the Fatboy like a bicycle. I had to get use to the heavier frontend especially at stops and slow speeds. I am 5'11 and 205 lbs and I almost dumped it a couple of times.

My best advice is do what I did,,,, watch the Ride Like a Pro video multiple times and go practice in a parking lot. Take your bags off, go to lowes and buy split foam pipe insulation and wrap your engine guard down low and bag rails with that and duct tape. If you drop it, no harm done, trust me, wrap them.

Slow speed maneuvers is the big difference in big bikes. I was lucky enough to live within a quarter mile of a community college with the MSF course laid out on a back parking lot. I would go on weekends with a buddy and practice for 20 minutes and take a run down the road to cool off the engine and clutch. In not time you will be doing figure 8's in the box and your confidence level will go up. I had been riding 40years years ( since I was 7)
and Harleys since my twenties. Watch the lessons and practice. I learned so much and you will tooo.... Good Luck and be safe

:good
Welcome from Pittsburgh, Pa.