free website stats program New member looking for advice | Harley Davidson Forums

New member looking for advice

FreeBird88

I'm looking to buy a new Harley and need some advice. I have little to no experience riding bikes on or off road and this will be my first bike. I need some advice on what bike to choose. I'm trying to decide between a sportster 1200 custom and a dyna super glide custom. Any help on this subject would be appreciated!

Jason

My suggestion would be to look up your local Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF) beginning riding course. It's a 2 day course, costs about $150 minus your helmet, boots, gloves you must have for the course. They provide the bikes, usually 250cc, to train on. This will give you your basic safety training and low speed manuvering practice that translates to any size or brand bike you can buy. Once you've taken and passed the couse get your proper motorcycle endorsement / license if your state requires it and then go take test rides or rent various bikes and see what fits, what feels good, and what turns you on. I had been away from riding for a long time and wanted a FatBob and ended up buying a Electra Glide Standard (FLHT) and found I love baggers.

My suggestion would be to look up your local Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF) beginning riding course. It's a 2 day course, costs about $150 minus your helmet, boots, gloves you must have for the course. They provide the bikes, usually 250cc, to train on. This will give you your basic safety training and low speed manuvering practice that translates to any size or brand bike you can buy. Once you've taken and passed the couse get your proper motorcycle endorsement / license if your state requires it and then go take test rides or rent various bikes and see what fits, what feels good, and what turns you on.

^^^what he said^^^

Great advise Buzzy.

There is no sub for the MSF.