free website stats program Louder Pipes | Harley Davidson Forums

Louder Pipes

tsp45acp

Complete newb here. First Harley. 08 XL 1200C. Love the bike, but is a little too quiet. I'd like to put some louder pipes on.

Don't want "straight pipe noise", just louder than stock.
Not looking to spend big bucks. Would like to do this as in-expensively as possible.
What do the experienced recommend? Do I need to do anything other than replace the pipes? 08's are EFI--will I need to re-program/upgrade my ECM/computer chip (whateve it's called) to make the bike run better.

Air cleaner/filter upgrades?

Would also like a little performance improvement too. Low-end & mid-range. Top end is fine. I do a lot of 2-up riding & am looking for more low end & midrange power. Thanks, Tracy

Smitty,

That's a start on the info I'm looking for.

What's the difference between a "stage 1 & stage 2 & stage 3" etc upgrade?

What is involved in each and what do they do? Thanks, Tracy

Glider,

EXCELLENT READ! Thank you very much.... Explains it in a way even I can understand. Yup, pretty sure I want to do a stage 1 now. Tracy

Complete newb here. First Harley. 08 XL 1200C. Love the bike, but is a little too quiet. I'd like to put some louder pipes on.

I agree on the Stage 1. Get that beast breathin'.

Also agree with Glider on the fuel manager. Check it out, but the TFI is almost like tuning a carb. Easy to do, and you can change it anytime YOU want to without spending any more money at the Dealership.

OK, back to your original question. Straight pipes are probably gonna be the loudest, but you said you did not want that. Why? If you go with drags, use cones.