free website stats program Lookin for more ponies | Harley Davidson Forums

Lookin for more ponies

jaxdwg

I'm new to the engine section but have been at the dyna section for years, Hi all; I got beat by my buddy, he has an 03 ultra, injected, with 211 cams, rinehart true duals, and a stroker making it 96". I have a stock 02 wide glide, a/c and v&h 2into1 exhaust. He beat me but not terrible so I figured I'd send out a set of heads I picked up and have them worked over some, then put in some cams and go up 1 jet size on the main and lifting the needle a little. Was wondering if someone might know what cams might work best with stock pistons but with head work and the thinner head gaskets, exhaust and jetting? I am looking to keep good grunt on the low and mid range and still idle decent and maintain longevity. Thanks for any help----jack

It would be a good time to consider doing the roller chanin conversion and hyd tensioner upgrade. I am using the Andrews 26N cams. Your bike is most likely due for tensioners. Good luck on deciding your build
kemo

Hi jaxdwg, I would match his 211 cams, they are good cams that like a light bike and love compression, there so mild you can run stock push rods if you wanted. They don't beat the engine up so there good for longevity. S/E heavey breather will help also for sure. don't know how many miles you have on the bike but while the heads are off I would pop some S/E big bore cylinders with high compression cast pistons on the bike, and while I was doing cams I would also install hybrid cam plate and high flow oil pump kit
and if you still have any money the S/E 44mm CV carb with manifold would be the icing on the cake. I would make sure if you have the heads done who ever does them has a proven track record, lots of people out there THINK they know heads. With the set up I quoted even with out heads you will have to keep pulling over to wait for your bud to catch up:) If you just want to do cams I would still go 211's

jax,