free website stats program Is this too much | Harley Davidson Forums

Is this too much

leonm47

I'm new to the Harley world but I was in my dealer's this week for a recall on my SG and noticed the cost of a 1000mi check was $310.00. Is this in the ballpark? bear in mind I'm mechanically challenged.

Its not high or low. If they do a good job, its fair. Problem is, too many times they do not. If you are capable of driving a HD, you are capable of doing this service. Buy a manual and follow instructions. You will learn your bike and save money.

Its not high or low. If they do a good job, its fair. Problem is, too many times they do not. If you are capable of driving a HD, you are capable of doing this service. Buy a manual and follow instructions. You will learn your bike and save money.

Got to agree 110%

Get a good manual and learn to do your own work.For me thats 1/2 of the fun and you will save a ton of money in the long run.

One way I try to save is that when me local dealer has a sale I try to buy whatever will will needed for my next service.

Man, Leonm47 - if you can afford a "Vette" then you can cover the $310 HD service.:s

Seriously, get the HD service manual (~$60) & parts/materials (~$50 - $70) and learn your bike. Overall, you'll cut this 1K service to less than 1/2 & gain some maint knowledge.

I'm new to the Harley world but I was in my dealer's this week for a recall on my SG and noticed the cost of a 1000mi check was $310.00. Is this in the ballpark? bear in mind I'm mechanically challenged.
==========================================
IMO, yes it's in the ballpark, but it's FOUL!! $310 to change 3 oils and put a shot of grease in the neck. Everything else is "check", which means quick look. And the $310 is probably base, then add 10% for shop supplies, $$ for environmental disposal, and whatever else they can slip in. You may get a free wash though.