free website stats program Installing a six speed transmission | Harley Davidson Forums

Installing a six speed transmission

Wayne R

Hello, I have a 2002 Road King I plan on keeping the bike for sometime and have been thinking of adding the six speed gear set, I have a fair knowledge of mechanics, I am a backyard mechanic I"ve changed a few car motors installed a tranny here and there and rebuilt one motor but aside from routine maintenance have never tore down a bike and was thinking of installing this myself, I understand Harley makes a six speed gear cluster which can be installed through the trap door of the transmission without removing the trans from the bike, with how to instructions from the kit im told they give you a template and the only modification to the trans is some filing of the case to make the gear cluster fit the case, after a conversation with a biker I met on one of the rides he had told me to look into another company century who also makes a similiar set of gears and claims I would like the gear ratio better than Harleys set up , I dont know much about the number, ratios, and how they feel when your driving the bike, the claim also made was that harleys six speed 1st gear ratio was lowered and the next sequence of gears also altered till you get to the 6th gear overdrive feeling as though you would always be looking to shift between 5th and 6th gear back and forth when around 50 or 60 mph I"ve never driven a six speed and I dont know if this is true or not, I tend to wanna stay with Harleys gear set I know its quality and american made I have trouble believing Harley would design a six speed gear set that would be uncomftorable to drive. anybody"s help tips or thoughts on this especially if youv"e done this conversion would be appreciated Thanks Wayne :cheers: :rider:

Hello, I have a 2002 Road King I plan on keeping the bike for sometime and have been thinking of adding the six speed
I deleted some of quote