free website stats program Hibernation | Harley Davidson Forums

Hibernation

Rapedape

Banned
I winterized my bike today. Having only had this bike for so short a time and not gettin' much time in the saddle.....Well lets just say it's gona' be a looooong winter. With frost on the ground nearly every morning now, it only means the snow is soon to come.:(:CANADA

I winterized my bike today. Having only had this bike for so short a time and not gettin' much time in the saddle.....Well lets just say it's gona' be a looooong winter. With frost on the ground nearly every morning now, it only means the snow is soon to come.:(:CANADA

Wow, I guess it is about your level of cold weather toleration. I'm no expert on Canadian weather patterns. Now here in Indiana, Presently to me it is just right....Some heavey riding gear in the morning and as the morning warms up take it off and it is a beautiful thing...In the evening late put your gear back on for comfort etc.

Now last year I bought the HD heated gloves and jacket liner. Hence I will extend my riding season. However...after we get an Indiana snow and the hi way department puts down salt. It leaved a salty residue....Hence if you ride and get that residue on your bike...then when you put your bike in a unheated garage, eventually you are going to get condensation on your bike exteriors. This prior mentioned condensation mixing the salt residue will really eat away at your bike....particuarly chrome parts and alloy wheels. So with all of that being said...even if it is cold and I have my heated gear, I will not ride and expose my bike to that residue....It is time for the cage then.

The point I'm making is this....If you ride in cold weather and get the salt residue on your Harley...get it WASHED OFF GOOD before you store it...or it could come back to haunt you later. I found this out many moons ago when I was a rookie.