free website stats program Hells Angels | Harley Davidson Forums

Hells Angels

Status
Not open for further replies.

iceman48

Since I'm fairly new to the Harley world, I have been hearing a :newsmile100:lot about the Hells Angels. What does it mean when you hear one patch, three patch or percent member. I was behind one today that had the top patch, middle patch, and the bottom patch was south Carolina. Are these clubs still bad news as it was in the 60s - 70s time frame.

Are these clubs still bad news as it was in the 60s - 70s time frame.

In a word, YES. A three-piece patch like the one you saw (top rocker, middle logo, and state rocker on bottom) generally denotes an "outlaw" motorcycle club. Whether it be the Hells Angels, the Warlocks, the Pagans, or any other 1%er MC, your best move is to KEEP YOUR DISTANCE. People who are not intimately familiar with that world run a very high risk of offending them, and offending an outlaw biker = he reacts with violence. If you should meet one in a bar, for example, just be very respectful, call him "patch holder", and keep to yourself as much as possible. On the road, just give him some space to ride and you should be fine.

You don't necessarily have to be scared of them. As long as you know how to approach and/ or address them, and you're NOT affiliated with any MC yourself, they SHOULD leave you in peace. But again, these are a rare breed of biker who have chosen a life of nonconformity and violence, so there is no guarantee they will be friendly.