free website stats program Harley Dream | Harley Davidson Forums

Harley Dream

jakesvdm

Hi, my wife and I have been preparing ourself for a couple of years (about 7) for our first Harley. Mainly my wife's dream, but we soon realized that we could only afford a Sporty. We also decided that we should get a 2004 or 2005 model (depends on budget) which comes with the rubber mount engine.

The problem is that we can only afford a 883. Since we always ride two up (my wife can't ride a bike, and we are always together), everybody tells us that we should get the 1200. I would like the extra power, but it has come down to two choices. We either live our dream and buy a 883 sporty 2004 (or maybe 05 - budget is tight), or we get the alternative - Suzuki / Honda. They cost the same.

My question is, how bad is the 883 with two up ( 2004 and later - still carb) ? All I need is a bike that can do 120 km/h going up hill on a freeway with the two of us on it. We weigh, luggage included when we travel, 170 kg (we currently have a Yamaha XT 350). Or should I forget about a Harley if I cannot afford the 1200 ? Can the 883 handle two up ?

I was told that the engine would not last. It was made for a single rider. Straining it with two up will just let the engine break. That's it. Really ?

Hey, I work way up north in a tourist town and have seen a lot of 1200's and 883's this year, both with 1 up and 2 up loaded to the top. In my talking with these people none have ever said anything about not enough power. Mainly long distance riding is abit tough. Hobbit's right you can upgrade later. There are also a lot of 1200 used for sale out there if this is what you want. I own one and love it. But as with all things I will be upgrading to a Super Glide Custom when I can.