free website stats program Gotta Leak | Harley Davidson Forums

Gotta Leak

I notice after long rides , the next day or two there is some oil drips under the bike . The other weekend after a 3 and a half hour ride , I came out and saw a fairly large oil spot , rear of bike on left side . I'm new at wrenching on motorcycles engines so where could it be from and how easy could it be to fix .

First of all you have to determine if it's oil, primary fluid or tranny fluid. Where you may see the drip may not be where it's coming from. Leaks seem to take the path of least resistance and will flow to the lowest point and drop to the ground.

Locating the source can be frustrating sometimes and takes time to find.
Try wiping down the underside of engine, primary and transmission, take it for a spin so she's fully warmed up and inspect using a flashlight. Look for weepage or wet spots around gasket areas is a good place to start.

I came out and saw a fairly large oil spot , rear of bike on left side . I'm new at wrenching on motorcycles engines so where could it be from and how easy could it be to fix .

What year and model? How many miles? Does the leak drip and stop or continue to leak for days after parked? Several possible sources for a leak like this. Take Jeff's advice to try and find the source of the leak but whether it stops or continues to leak will tell a lot.;)

I agree with the comments above about oil/fluid leaks being a pain to find. Also second the request from dolt about model/year.

Sometimes when the oil filter is changed, oil can spill onto the front of the engine and lay around for a while until showing up. Try this: