free website stats program Georgia Mountains | Harley Davidson Forums

Georgia Mountains

johnkarlfl

Looking to take a summer bike vacation in Georgia.
Any ideas for good rides and a place to stay thats motorcycle friendly?

If you want a nice all around trip, I'd suggest going up US 129 or 441 through the central part of the state, and going home on US 27 along the western part. Slow but nice roads and country. TWO (Two Wheels Only) is a mcy. only lodge is Suches GA. I find it not overly Harley friendly, more sportbikes.
I always stay in Murphy NC, at the Best Western, but they have other motels. Murphy is just across the border and close to the Dragon (US129) and the Cherahalla Parkway. Your wife may like Helen, GA. It looks like a German or Swiss town, cute, but touristy, crowded and expensive. N. GA and W. NC has enough to keep you busy riding and sightseeing for a nice vacation. I have been riding that area for 20 years and still find new places. Tanks link is a good place to scope out your options.

Last edited:
North Georgia is great but if you're going to come that far, I'd keep going and stay in Maggie Valley, NC for a couple days riding. Easy access to the Blue Ridge Parkway, The Dragon, Cherohala Skyway, Asheville, and many local mountain roads that are a blast.

Be sure to let us know when the dates are finalized. You never know what crazy Georgia bikers might want to join you! Hint, hint!